Concert Information

Mozart Matinee #36

Date and
Monday 14 January 2019
Start at 11:00
Piano= Yu Kosuge
Orchestra= Tokyo Symphony Orchestra
« All Mozart Program »
Piano concerto No. 8 in C major K. 246
Piano Concerto No. 21 in C major K. 467
Nursery Service (special discount)

Children under 6 are not admitted.


  All reserved seating U25 (7 - 25)
General Public ¥3,500 ¥1,000
MUZA Member ¥3,150 -

On-sale date

General Public
Tuesday 23 January 2018

Muza Kawasaki Symphony Hall Ticket Center
(Phone: 10:00 - 18:00 / In Person: 10:00 - 19:00)


MUZA Kawasaki Symphony Hall
MUZA Kawasaki Symphony Hall 044-520-0200
TOKYO SYMPHONY Ticket center
TOKYO SYMPHONY Ticket center 044-520-1511
Ticket Pia
Ticket Pia 0570-02-9999 (P-code:100-603)
MUZA e-plus
MUZA e-plus
Kanagawa Art Association
Kanagawa Art Association 045-453-5080


MUZA Kawasaki Symphony Hall Ticket Center 044-520-0200 (10:00~18:00)

Programme Notes by Akitsugu Sano

W. A. Mozart: Piano Concerto No. 21 in C major, K. 467

This concerto was composed in 1785 in Vienna. Since 1779, Mozart served at the Court in Salzburg. But, because of a disagreement with the archbishop, in 1781 Mozart left Salzburg for Vienna. While it was normal for musicians at that time to serve at the court or church, Mozart had been freelancing until he served at the Court in Vienna in 1787. He was working under good conditions in the time between these court appointments. This was especially so in 1784, when he was both a much sought after musician and teacher. A concert sponsored by himself drew a full house too.
Next year he composed Piano Concert No. 21 for his own concert. Based on his father Leopold’s letter, the first performance at the 10th March of this year seems to have been inconceivably successful.
This concerto consists of three movements. The first movement begins with a march-like first theme. After this theme and other melodies are developed, the piano repeats this first theme. Then the elegant second theme is mainly assigned to the piano. In the middle of the movement, the first theme and some other melodies are developed. Finally, the previous used two themes and other melodies return, and, after the cadenza, this movements ends with the first theme again.
The second movement is short and slow. It begins with a graceful theme mainly in the violin parts. Then, the same theme is repeated in the piano part. In this movement, the music is diversified by the occasional modulations to minor keys and by the exposition of a new theme in the middle of the movement. But the dynamics of the work is chiefly piano, thus rather soft, and this movement ends by tranquilly fading out.
In the third movement, the tempo is consistently rapid. Through the movement, dialogues between the piano and the strings and woodwinds are continued. At the end of the movement, while the orchestra plays the opening melody, the piano plays an ascending scale for 4 octaves, thereby bringing the movement to a brilliant close.

W. A. Mozart: Piano Concerto No. 8 in C major, K. 246

This concerto is known as the “Lützow Concerto”. It is guessed that this work was composed for the countess Antonin Czernin Lützow, the wife of count Johan Gottfried Lützow who was a commander of Hohensalzburg Fortress. She was a pupil of Leopold Mozart and played the clavier. In the letter from Mozart to his father, he asked Leopold to send the score of “the ‘C Major’ concerto composed for the countess Lützow’’. They are the basis of the above mentioned guess.
This concerto was composed in February 1776, when Mozart served at the Court in Salzburg. It is not clear when it was first performed. But, it is possible that this work was played by the countess during Pentecost in that year.
This concerto also consists of three movements. The first movement begins with a refined first theme played by the orchestra together. After this theme is repeated by the piano, the light second theme is assigned mainly to the piano. In the first half of the development, the music is diversified by modulations to minor keys. Then, two themes are repeated and after the cadenza the movement closes with a repeat of the first theme.
The second movement is calm, slow and graceful. In the middle of the movement, the atmosphere becomes melancholic by the modulations to minor keys. Then, the opening theme is repeated and the movement is closed in the major key.
The third movement is a minuet with three themes. Theme A has a refined character, and the theme B is characterized by dotted rhythms and broken chords – this theme also has a march-like rhythm and is played on the wind instruments. In the middle of the movement, the melancholic theme C emerges in minor keys. After this, themes A and B are repeated, and the movement ends powerfully.
  • SUN
  • MON
  • TUE
  • WED
  • THU
  • FRI
  • SAT
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • 6

The 17th Jamie's Concert

Start at 11:00

Piano= Ilya Rashkovskiy
Piano= Noriko Ogawa

more information

  • 7
  • 8
  • 9
  • 10
  • 11
  • 12
  • 13

Cinema Music with Orchestra Ⅹ

14:00 OPEN
14:20 Pre-talk
15:00 START

Conductor= Kazuyoshi Akiyama
Guest= Mone Hattori(Vn.), Akira Shimizu(Vo.), Hana Yamada and Rei Yamada(Vo.)
Navigator= Miho Nakai
Orchestra= Tokyo Symphony Orchestra

more information

  • 14
  • 15
  • 16
  • 17
  • 18
  • 19
  • 20

MUZA Music Salon

Start at 14:00

Presenter= Atsushi Oyamada
Guest Speaker= Shokyo Miura (Jodo sinshu Honganji-ha Shingyo temple Buddhist priest)
Viola= Chihiro Tai(Tokyo Symphony Orchestra Viola)
Piano= Takuya Uchikado

more information

  • 21
  • 22
  • 23
  • 24
  • 25
  • 26
  • 27

[Sold Out]MUZA Morning Concert

Start at 10:30

Kuni Seo & Shinichiro Kato Piano Duo

more information

[Sold Out]MUZA Lunchtime Concert

Start at 12:10

Kuni Seo & Shinichiro Kato Piano Duo

more information

Tokyo Symphony mini Concert

Start at 12:15

Moe Matsuyama (Tokyo Symphony Trumpet)
Hiroko Hayashi (Piano)

more information

  • 28
  • 29
  • 30

Concert Search